recipe | cilantro pesto

Hello Loves! I took a bit of an end-of-summer hiatus from blogging recently to get out and enjoy life , but I am back full-force. I woke up this morning and realized how much I missed being in my kitchen, exploring new foods and recipes, and with a yearning and longing to head to the farmers market. So, that is exactly what I did. I got up early, strong cup of coffee in hand and went to a local market and simply luxuriated in all of the gorgeous fruits, vegetables, and herbs. The colors were so vibrant and stunning, the aromas overwhelmingly strong and fresh…I was literally in heaven!  I picked up some beautiful tomatoes, strawberries, peaches and okra (the things I know won’t be around much longer) as well as tons of greens and an enormous amount of cilantro, basil, and mint.  The smell of the herbs was so sweet and strong, I couldn’t resist.  When I got home I immediately wanted to make something  tasty to accompany my eggs, and the cilantro was just speaking to me. So, I decided to make my Green Cilantro Pesto. It is so simple and easy, but with a big punch of flavor and that amazing bright cilantro zing. This stuff is seriously good on everything: Toss it into a pasta dish, add a little to jazz up a sandwich, mix it in with quinoa and veggies, or add it to your morning eggs with a few slices of tomato…DELISH! And of course, I have a few photos to share with you!

CILANTRO PESTO (adapted from Sarah Britton’s recipe)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 bunches fresh cilantro
  • 1 small sweet onion, rough chop
  • 1 shallot, rough chop
  • Juice of 3 lemons
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2-3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp of organic local honey
  • Salt to taste

DIRECTIONS:

Trim ends off cilantro bunches and place them in a large bowl of fresh water, dunking them several times. Drain water and repeat once more to be sure that all of the dirt has been removed. In a blender, puree onion, shallot, and lemon juice. Add cilantro (both leaves and stems), and remaining ingredients to blender and blend until mix is uniformly green and smooth. Add salt to taste, and Voila!

images in this post are personal photographs | kindly credit this site if used

Leave a Reply

