peak | week 5 recap

groceries to start the week | personal photograph

WooHoo! I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, with only 3 more weeks left in the Peak10 program. But, curiously I find this very bitter-sweet… I am proud of myself for all that I have accomplished thus far, nevertheless I will feel pangs of sadness when it is all over. We started a new peak cardio strength routine this week, which is KILLER! I feel a whole new set of muscles working and burning (aka-screaming in agony). It seems that the strength portion is a lot more leg-focused. Tons and tons of lunges; lunge jumps, alternating lunges, pulsing lunges…seriously every kind of lunge you can imagine. And my hamstrings and quads have taken notice. In addition to our new cardio strength routine, my workout schedule for the week was as follows:

  • monday | circuit training
  • tuesday | peak cardio strength
  • wednesday | boot camp + pure cardio
  • thursday | peak cardio strength
  • friday | rest day
  • saturday | 3-20 circuit + core + step
  • sunday | peak cardio interval burn

I did great on food this week, eating very healthy and clean, and pretty much following the meal plan I had set-up for myself…until friday rolled around.  I think any time you start your day by throwing your green smoothie to the way-side in exchange for a bag of potato chips, you are in trouble. I don’t know what it is about me and potato chips, but if they are anywhere in the vicinity, I will hunt them down and devour them. Which is why I normally avoid them like the black plague and NEVER-EVER buy them for our house. Unfortunately for me, a co-worker brought a giant bag to the office and that was all it took.  To make matters worse, having chips for breakfast was just the beginning of a downward spiral into a vortex of processed food and junk. I won’t give you the full list for the day, but needless to say it included fried shrimp tacos, more chips and an unfathomable amount of shortbread cookies. And while the food tasted good going down, I felt heavy, tired, and lethargic the rest of the day. I woke up saturday craving raw foods, loads of water, and a serious sweat session…all of which I did! when I started to think about my junk food frenzy from the previous day, I realized something: I had been craving sweets for about 2 days, but was determined to stick to my healthy meal plan for the week, so I deprived myself of what my body wanted.  I think if i had just listened to my needs and given in to a little treat, I may have found myself satisfied, content, and feeling good about my decisions. Instead of weighed down, guilty, and literally in a food coma.

Lesson learned from week 5:

  • treat yourself | Reward yourself and provide room for freedom + flexibility in your diet.  You deserve it, and it may prevent you from losing total control!

Only 3 weeks left!

2 thoughts on “peak | week 5 recap

  1. You are doing great Erin! Great plan for the week, wish I could join you tonight at circuit but I have a dinner to go to (with plenty of high fat food instead)! You got yourself back on track after the spurge so look forward and don’t look back, you are looking great!

Leave a Reply

